The purpose of this Society shall be to acquire and preserve historical knowledge and materials of Woodstock, Connecticut.
It shall promote this history by every feasible means to as wide an audience as possible.
Including Christmas ornaments and seasonal decorations and a special discount on our lavishly illustrated book:
A JOURNEY THROUGH WOODSTOCK 1686-2011
All sales benefit the Historical Society in its ongoing work to preserve the precious documents of Woodstock’s history
PALMER MEMORIAL HALL, 523 Route 169, Woodstock, CT
The Original Woodstock
The Town of Woodstock was originally settled in 1686 as New Roxbury by thirteen men (the Goers) from Roxbury, Massachusetts and became the first town in present day Windham County. Thirty families followed the Connecticut path west from Boston and settled in Wabbaquasset. The first homesteads were set up on Plaine Hill and the Westward Hill. Located on the conjunction of three Indian trails, the area was frequented by traders and was situated on the "great road from Hartford to Boston, and on the road from Providence to Albany." Woodstock has thrived since the early days and has played its part in history.The Commons served as assembly sites for troops during the American Revolution, The War of 1812, and the Civil War. Roseland Cottage hosted Presidential visits in the nineteenth century. Please visit the Woodstock Historical Society Welcome Center next time you are in town and learn more about the fascinating history of our early New England town.
Most Sundays, 12:00 - 4:00 p.m.
By Appointment, Call: 860-928-1035
Ice cutting 1930's
Directions The Woodstock Historical Society is headquartered in Palmer Memorial Hall,
at 523 Route 169, in the historic hill district of Woodstock,